Page 2 - respond-cop27
P. 2

Recognizing Innovation

Winners for the 10th Award (2022)

Creativity Prize                                                                                                        Dr. Thalappil Pradeep

1) The team led by Thalappil Pradeep (Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India)

for the creation and successful deployment of environmentally friendly “water positive” nanoscale
materials for the affordable, sustainable and rapid removal of arsenic from drinking water. Team
members include Avula Anil Kumar, Chennu Sudhakar, Sritama Mukherjee, Anshup, and Mohan
Udhaya Sankar.

2) The team led by Dionysios D. Dionysiou (University of Cincinnati, USA)                                               Dr. Dionysios D. Dionysiou

for the development of innovative advanced oxidation technologies and nanotechnologies for environmental applications,
particularly in the removal and monitoring of emerging contaminants. Team members include Wael H.M. Abdelraheem,
Abdulaziz Al-Anazi, Jiong Gao, Ying Huang, and Vasileia Vogiazi.

Surface Water Prize                                                                                                     Dr. Dennis D. Baldocchi
                                                                                                                         Dr. Linda M. Abriola
Dennis D. Baldocchi (University of California Berkeley, USA)                                                             Dr. Chinedum Osuji
                                                                                                                        Dr. Matthew McCabe
for the development and implementation of effective models to understand, evaluate and predict
evapotranspiration and water-use efficiency in various environments under climate change conditions.

Groundwater Prize

Linda M. Abriola (Brown University, USA)

for pioneering research on toxic Dense Non-Aqueous Phase Liquids (DNAPLs) in groundwater, ranging
from the simulation of their fate to effective methods for cleaning contaminated sites.

Alternative Water Resources Prize

The team of Menachem Elimelech (Yale University, USA) and                            Dr. Menachem Elimelech
Chinedum Osuji (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

for wide-ranging advances in nanostructured materials for next-generation water
purification, focusing on implementation issues like manufacturing, sustainability,
self-assembly, and biofouling.

Water Management and Protection Prize

The team led by Matthew McCabe (KAUST, Thuwal, Saudi Arabia)

for employing CubeSat constellations in the sustainable management and security of linked water-
food systems, along with estimates of agricultural water use at unprecedented spatial and temporal
resolutions and with global coverage. Team members include Bruno Aragon (KAUST) and Rasmus
Houborg (Planet Labs, USA).

    Invitation for Nominations

11th Award (2024)
Nominations open online until 31 December 2023
   1   2   3   4   5   6   7