Page 2 - respond-cop28
P. 2

Recognizing Innovation

                     Winners for the 10th Award (2022)

                          Creativity Prize

                          1) The team led by Thalappil Pradeep (Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India)
                          for the creation and successful deployment of environmentally friendly “water positive” nanoscale
                          materials for the a ordable, sustainable and rapid removal of arsenic from drinking water.  Team
                          members include Avula Anil Kumar, Chennu Sudhakar, Sritama Mukherjee, Anshup, and Mohan   Dr. Thalappil Pradeep
                          Udhaya Sankar.
            2) The team led by Dionysios D. Dionysiou (University of Cincinnati, USA)
            for the development of innovative advanced oxidation technologies and nanotechnologies for environmental applications,
            particularly in the removal and monitoring of emerging contaminants. Team members include Wael H.M. Abdelraheem,
            Abdulaziz Al-Anazi, Jiong Gao, Ying Huang, and Vasileia Vogiazi.
                                                                                                  Dr. Dionysios D. Dionysiou
                          Surface Water Prize

                          Dennis D. Baldocchi (University of California Berkeley, USA)
                          for the development and implementation of e ective models to understand, evaluate and predict
                          evapotranspiration and water-use e ciency in various environments under climate change conditions.
                                                                                                   Dr. Dennis D. Baldocchi
                          Groundwater Prize

                          Linda M. Abriola (Brown University, USA)
                          for pioneering research on toxic Dense Non-Aqueous Phase Liquids (DNAPLs) in groundwater, ranging
                          from the simulation of their fate to e ective methods for cleaning contaminated sites.
                                                                                                    Dr. Linda M. Abriola
                          Alternative Water Resources Prize

                          The team of Menachem Elimelech (Yale University, USA) and
                          Chinedum Osuji (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
                          for wide-ranging advances in nanostructured materials for next-generation water
                          puri cation, focusing on implementation issues like manufacturing, sustainability,   Dr. Menachem Elimelech  Dr. Chinedum Osuji
                          self-assembly, and biofouling.
                          Water Management and Protection Prize

                          The team led by Matthew McCabe (KAUST, Thuwal, Saudi Arabia)
                          for employing CubeSat constellations in the sustainable management and security of linked water-
                          food systems, along with estimates of agricultural water use at unprecedented spatial and temporal
                          resolutions and with global coverage. Team members include Bruno Aragon (KAUST) and Rasmus   Dr. Matthew McCabe
                          Houborg (Planet Labs, USA).
                                  Invitation for Nominations

                            11th Award (2024)

            Nominations open online until 31 December 2023


   PSIPW 10th winners&11th Nomination Ad A4_Final.indd   1                                                    5/28/22   7:22 AM
   1   2   3   4   5   6   7