Page 55 - index
P. 55

rtcc respond

The Alps, the highest and most extensive mountain the European Union, signed an internatonal treaty for
range in Europe, cover a territory of 190.688 km² and the joint sustainable development and protecton of
belong to the most densely populated mountain ranges the Alps, called the Alpine Conventon.
in the world with more than 80 inhabitants/km . They Its bodies represent the politcal and expert level
are also home for numerous animal and plant species. basis for the management of the alpine territory and
The territory of the Alps encompasses eight countries: joint coping with its challenges – like climate change.
Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Find out more about the Alpine Conventon on our
Slovenia and Switzerland. These eight countries, and webpage:

Photo ©: Jerome Bon 53
   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60